Leggo my Ego

This morning, I was reading A New Earth by Eckhart Tolle.  The part that stood out to me was about nonreaction to the ego.  The way that he describes it really helped me to clearly see how often my ego gets in the way.  I am not my ego, but I tend to live through it at times.  The words “Leggo my Ego” keeps popping into my mind. 

This process of change is lifelong.  However, I believe that gaining awareness is the seed of change.  In order to put that change into action, I need to be ready to change, willing and patient with myself.  I also need to be able to see when my ego gets in the way or takes over and not react to it. 

Below is the powerful portion of the the book that I read earlier:

“Nonreaction to the ego in others is one of the most effective ways not only of going beyond ego in yourself but also of dissolving the collective human ego.  But you can only be in a state of nonreaction if you can recognize someone’s behavior as coming from the ego, as being an expression of the collective human dysfunction.  When you realize it’s not personal, there is no longer a compulsion to react as if it were.  By not reacting to the ego, you will often be able to bring out the sanity in others, which is the unconditioned consciousness as opposed to the conditioned.  At times you may have to take practical steps to protect yourself from deeply unconscious people.  This you can do without making them into enemies.  Your greatest protection, however, is being conscious.  Somebody becomes an enemy if you personalize the unconsciousness that is the ego.  Nonreaction is forgiveness. To forgive is to overlook, or rather to look through.  You look through the ego to the sanity that is in every human being as his or her essence.” ~Eckhart Tolle’s A New Earth

Leave a Reply

